i don’t know if you know

So here are some updates on my life, post Antananarivo…

It’s vanilla season in Nosiarina! Life smells good these days.

Babies show up on my veranda in buckets!

My neighbors cleaned up my tena maloto garden for me. Here is the view from my “kitchen” window.

What is Mallory doing in her Malagasy home? Hiding away and watching all of the movies and tv shows she got in Tana… No, actually I wish that were true, but I’ve been hard at work. Today may be the day that I submit my request for chicken cooperative funding. It all depends if the doctor is in at the CSA (Centre Service Agricole) and can give me prices on vaccinations and such. It was a fun little application consisting of 8 excel pages, stuff about capacity building, sustainability, etc. I mean, I get it, potential donors need to know this stuff, but that doesn’t mean I enjoy spending hours locked up in my house on the computer (I hide my computer from the Malagasys). At least I have music, currently 57.8 days worth of music. What I have been listening to lately you ask? Here is a sampling from my “Recently Played”:

1: My Night with the Prostitute From Marseille – Beirut

2: Cobrastyle (Bloody Beetroots Remix) – Robyn

3: Everything You Do Is A Balloon – Boards of Canada

4: The Keeper – Bonobo

5: Odessa – Caribou

6: Le Senza (Colly Remix) – Camille

7: Very Fancy – Die Antwoord

8: The Bells Sketch – James Blake (actually, anything and everything James Blake)

9: Can’t Tell Me Nothing – Kanye

10: Youth Gone – Les Sins

11: Tonight – Lykke Li

12: Boyz – M.I.A.

13: Only Girl In The World (Hood Internet Remix) – Rhianna

14: Heartbreaker – Will.I.Am

15: Dougie Vision (Cali Swag District vs. Toro Y Moi) – Hood Internet

16: Hood Internet’s Mixtape #5 (one hour of amazing) p.s. if anybody would like to send me a flash drive of all of the Hood Internet mixtapes that I’ve missed, I would be much appreciative, and will send you some vanilla!

New pastimes: Spending my mornings on my veranda with my neighbor/thief watching babies waddle down the street, watching Lady GaGa music videos on my iPhone with my gasy lady friends, waking up to my neighbor blasting gasy music at 5:30am only to notice the generator is louder than the actual music, receiving 6lbs of bananas at a time as a “cadeau”, and being summoned from my house to take French-speaking tourists to look at a semi-defunct pepinaire, only to struggle with miscommunication and frustration on both of our parts after the “guide” failed to show up. 6 lbs of bananas, a common Malagasy gift! I think that’s all I really have to report at the moment.

2 responses to “i don’t know if you know

  1. what kind of logs are those in the vanilla picture? Is there a lot of logging where you are?
    Great to talk to you…Leave Monday with the guys to Bucerias.

  2. I was just looking at your photos again… That baby is too precious!

Leave a Reply

